Some tips for SLOWLY changing your eating habits…

English:

English: (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Changing my eating habit has been a personal struggle of mines. Miss PB and I always joke about the fact that her strength is healthy meal prep and discipline in her eating and my strength is my discipline with working out consistently. If we could just combine the 2, we would be the most fit chicks around.

However, its my personal opinion that changing the way you eat is a harder battle. The first issue is that I was raised to “finish my food”. That means EVERYTHING on the plate. So, even unconciously, I ALWAYs finish my plate. The second problem is that I am a picky eater as well. I don’t eat sea food. I don’t like berries. I don’t like big pieces of meat on my plate. I think yogurt, mushrooms and cottage cheese are disgusting. There are some things I’ve only tasted for the first time, since I met Miss PB – raw broccoli, squash, zuchinni, black beans…etc. Thirdly, I’m also usually on the move and don’t have much time to cook…which makes healthy eating more difficult.

Needless to say, adapting my eating habits to a more healthy and fit lifestyle has been difficult. But here are some tips that I’ve ran across on this journey that have been helpful….

1. Use smaller plates! Something so simple makes me eat less.

2. Start off with a small portion. Don’t expect yourself to be disciplined enough to stop when you see and smell the rest of your food on the plate. When you go out, immediately ask for a to-go countainer and split the meal in half.

3. Make a list BEFORE you grocery shop and shop the outer perimeters first. The healthier foods are usually on the outside of the store. The food that can sit on the shelves for months at a time are in the middle isles. The fresher, the better.

4. Don’t keep ANY junk food in you home. Knowing that I have to go to the store and get chips, make me less likely to eat them. I also can’t keep Pepsi in my home. I will drink it immediately.

5. Eat before you go grocery shopping. Being hungry makes you pick meals that are quick and not as healthy. And you also buy more food too.

6.Try to plan your meals. You are less likely to stop by a fast food spot and grab a high-calorie, high-fat treat if you already have a plan.

7. If you are a “snacker” like me, keep healthy snacks in your home, at work and in your car. – nuts, fruit, fiber/granola bars…etc

8. Try to limit your red meat. Your body will feel so much lighter.

9. Drink lots of water. I drink water with all of my meals, so that I don’t add extra calories by drinking them. And water helps me to feel full faster.

10. If you are like me and you are going to drink…have your alcohol with water or zero-calorie juice. Alcohol already has tons of empty calories. Why add on to that with juice and pop?

As I said before, changing the way you eat is not easy. But, it’s the key to weight lost and healthy living, so you have to start some where. PROGRESS…not PERFECTION.

~Miss FB

What do you think? Leave a reply!

